Saturday, November 21, 2020

Seabass, Deep Sea Diver, and Seaside – Song Features

      Our list of blogworthy songs included three by bands that include the syllable “sea” in their band name. All three feature skillful guitar. It seemed wise to combine them in a single post.

     Seabass identifies itself as a London-based Surfgaze band. Quoting their bio:
  In your face, rhythmic surf/shoegaze with at once raucous and jangly post-punk guitars and serene vocal harmonies interspersed by jagged spoken word. Based in North London, Seabass' members met at university in 2017, starting off as a cover band before writing together and hopping on the London gig circuit in 2018 playing their first gig at The George Tavern in East London. 

     “Daisy Surf” by Seabass

     Deep Sea Diver is Jessica Dobson, Peter Mansen, Garrett Gue, and Elliot Jackson in Seattle, Washington. The band recently released the single “Impossible Weight,” which includes the voice of Sharon Van Etten. We recommend that single, but favor “Lights Out" because it is more guitar-heavy.
     “Lights Out” by Deep Sea Diver

     According to their Facebook bio, Seaside is an emerging Indie band from the sparkling waters of beautiful Byron Bay, Australia, with a sultry dream-pop sound. The members are Darcy Dexter (vocals), Chris Mellross (drums), Tom Ketelaars (bass), and Josh O’Neill Hammer (guitar). Josh is called Froggy.

     “Dopamine” by Seaside

No comments:

Post a Comment