Friday, December 2, 2016

Free Friday (“FL&R”) – December 2

     Free and Legal Downloads? Yes, at least temporarily. Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of their releases.  The end of an offer is usually based on the expiration of a set period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FL&R) downloads.
     Finding songs that can be legally downloaded is easy. The difficult task is to find legally downloadable music that we recommend. The hope is to post at least one FL&R song each Friday.
     The guitar at the start of “Ohly Grail” is suited for Pop, while the vocals are well suited for a harder Rock. Think Wu Lyf. Letters to Lions is an Indie band from the Southern beaches of Sydney. The band consists of Joel Osborn (guitar, vocals), Adam Newling (guitar, vocals), Jackson Kent (bass), and Curtis Newbett-Hill (drums). The band released its debut EP “Clean Eating” in July 2016.
     “Ohly Grail” by Letters to Lions


     Move quickly if you want the free download. The trio says the number of downloads is very limited. “Inspiration!” by W. H. Lung is collection of sounds that blend into a sound that makes us anxious to hear the follow-up releases from the band. Quoting their press materials:
  W. H. Lung is a recording project founded in Manchester in mid-2016. Its first single to yield is the dream-like and shifting ‘Inspiration!’, recorded at The Nave in Leeds and produced by Matt Peel (Eagulls, Autobahn, Pulled Apart by Horses). A song that speaks to the ideas of eternity, belonging and meaninglessness, it takes the shape of a kraut/psych journey; persevering but never dull, and bringing it home before the break.
  The motorik nature of the track stems from W. H. Lung’s writing ethic which, with an Alesis drum machine at its core, aims to create a surrounding maelstrom of ethereal circuits and hypnotic rhythms.
     “Inspiration!” by W. H. Lung

     Sunbathers is a band from Washington D.C. and Baltimore. The members are Sean Lynott (vocals, synth), Pete Mindnich (guitar, vocals), Tim Boaté (guitar), Peter Leonard (bass), and Shohsei Oda (drums).

No comments:

Post a Comment