Friday, June 21, 2013

Another Three That Are Free, Legal and Recommended (FLR)

     Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of the offer may be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are three songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FLR) downloads.
     Our new favorite band from the Ukraine is Singleton. They are based in Kiev and the members are Alina Fedorova (vocals), Jim Walt (guitars), Nikita Yudin (guitars), Dmitriy Chudakov (bass), and Vitaliy Yermak (drums). The band accurately characterizes its music as having a raw guitar-driven sound, with heartfelt, emotional vocals. At the least, this describes the song "Drown."  
     "Drown" by Singleton - currently a free download.

     Some quality vocals + alt-pop without excessive pop + a good instrument balance = "Everything's Fine" by MINKS.  MINKS is a duo from Brooklyn, New York and is comprised of Shaun Kilfoyle and Amalie Bruun.
     "Everything's Fine" by MINKS - currently a free download

     "Three Years" by Bellamaine is is a song that needed to "grow on us," but it has done so with a vengence. It is in our play rotation three times, so that we hear it 300% more than songs that we merely like. The band is based in Anacortes, Washington and, unfortunately, doesn't seem to venture very far. the four members are Nick Thompson (Guitar, Vocals), Julianne Thompson (Synths/Keys Vocals), Gaelan Francis Sylvia (Drums), and Jordan Nielsen (Bass, Synths).
      "Three Years" by Bellamaine - the free download is a two-step process, but you just need to go to the KEXP site

No comments:

Post a Comment