Friday, July 21, 2017

Free Friday (“FL&R”) – July 21

     Free and Legal Downloads? Yes, at least temporarily. Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of their releases.  The end of an offer may be based on the expiration of a set period of time or on a limited number of downloads.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FL&R) downloads.
     Finding songs that can be legally downloaded is easy. The difficult task is to find legally downloadable music that we recommend. Our plan is to post at least one FL&R song each Friday. Today's downloads require a jump to the best site for discovering Australian music - Triple J Unearthed. 
      Hayden Calnin is a fusion of Folk and Electronic. For “Collision,” the balance tilts toward Folk. Calnin describes the song as “an expression about a really dark time for a friend of mine.” The sentiment seems suitable on this day after the death of Linkin Park’s Chester Bennington.
Did you look straight at the wall?
Or turn away in your own thought?
Were you hoping for a hero?
But no one came

Did you feel you’d go right through?
Did you think that we’d miss you?
Did you yell or were you silent?
I know you’ve always been a ‘lil quiet

Did you think to turn around
Or were you just too far down?

     “Collision” by Hayden Calnin – To access the free download, go to Triple J site ( and click the down arrow.  

     Sunscreen brings their jangly guitar to “Voices.” The trio is based in Sydney and comprises Sarah Sykes (vocals, guitar), Alexander McDonald (guitars), and Hugo Levingston (drums). According to Sarah:
  “’Voices’ began last year as a jam between Hugo and Alex in my old garage. They started playing this insane, driving rhythm, and I began to sing over the top ‘it's my head, it's just in mine,’ lyrics that would eventually become the chorus. The theme of the song is anxiety. The lyrics are semi-triumphant, acknowledging that things in reality aren't as bad as they seem. But they're also self-deprecating; about kicking yourself when you realise it's your own mind that's causing the problem.”

     “Voices” by Sunscreen – To access the free download, go to Triple J site ( and click the down arrow.  


     Dine Alone Records released a Summer Sampler. The 26 songs cover a range of genres. The download site is

01. Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs - “Talk 2 Her”
02. Matthew Logan Vasquez - “Same”
03. Dave Catching – “Bought and Sold”
04. New Swears – “vDance With The Devil”
05. Land of Talk – “This Time”
06. Single Mothers – “Leash”
07. Seaway – “Apartment”
08. Julie & The Wrong Guys – “Farther From You”
09. Dead Heavens – “Adderall Highway”
10. Amber Run – “No Answers”
11. INVSN – “This Constant War”
12. City and Colour – “Rain”
13. Spencer Burton – “Unmistakable Love”
14. SUSTO – “Jah Werx”
15. The Sadies – “Another Season Again”
16. Brent Cowles – “Lift Me Up (Leave Me Here) ”
17. The Flatliners – “Indoors”
18. Luke Sital-Singh – “Hunger”
19. James Vincent McMorrow – “True Care”
20. Sleepy Sun – “Seaquest”
21. CHIMNEY – “Walk Don’t Run”
22. BROS – “Watch Who You’re Talking To”
23. The New Pornographers – “Whiteout Conditions”
24. Dune Rats – “6 Pack”
25. The Dirty Nil – “Fuckin’ Up Young”
26. Gone Is Gone – “Sentient”

No comments:

Post a Comment