Thursday, August 13, 2015

From the Mailbox of Indie Obsessive – The August Post

     Each week we consistently dig deep into the treasure trove of email submissions, read the stories of artists as they create and release new music, and listen to songs from around the world.  Truly we are grateful for the volume of submissions we receive, so please continue to send them along!  Since we are not able to post song or album reviews for each submission, we will start a series of posts to share noteworthy obsessive highlights from the Indie Obsessive mailbox.

Presented by Karen M.
     Pasted from the email submission to Indie Obsessive:
     Lost Tuesday Society are a five-piece band who have collectively come from a variety of differing musical backgrounds and therefore bring with them a range of influences.  Expect big things from them in 2015.
     "Constant State Of" is the second single released from their self-titled album, released earlier this year, with both being produced by legendary Joe Gibb (David Bowie, The Kinds, Catatonia, Leftfield, Moulettes) and both being received fantastically by their local fan base. The fan base is reaching further afield thanks to iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and other online media sources.  The album artwork was kindly donated by the well-respected London-based artist Mr. Dan Hillier, who designed the iconic art of Royals Blood’s debut number 1 album.
     Writing original material, comparisons have been made to early Fleetwood Mac, among others. And the album's concentration on intricate musical composition and strong melody lines pays its homage unintentionally to 70’s Folk and Rock, with enough edge to bring the songs into modern day.  Because of this, the music appeals to people of all ages and all walks of life.  
     Their newest single "Constant State Of" perfectly showcases the band’s knack for delivering credible, infectious music whilst encapsulating the band’s own brand of alternative Folk appeal.  Released on 27 June.
     Band members:  Darran Browning, Sarah Birch, Darren Beynon, Alfie Scheinman, Simon Parsons.
     “Constant State Of” by Lost Tuesday Society

     Pasted from the email submission to Indie Obsessive:
     Kassassin Street are a young 5 piece hailing from Portsmouth, consisting of Rowan Bastable (guitar, vox), Tom Wells (bass, vox), Andy Hurst (keys, samples), Ryan Hill (guitar, vox) & Nathan Hill (drums). Within an extremely short space of time, the band have garnered a substantial following on the South coast and a burgeoning reputation on the UK festival circuit.
      “Radio Silence” is their second official single to date following on from their debut single “To Be Young” back in March. “To Be Young” was received extremely well across both radio and online platforms, peaking at #23 on the Hype Machine popular charts and also #10 on the Spotify Viral chart. Significant radio support came from Xfm, where Kassassin Street were play listed with “To Be Young.” No mean feat for a debut effort.
      The band have been extremely busy this summer, playing a string of festival dates including Secret Garden Party, The Great Escape, Isle of White, Y Not and Blissfields, developing their reputation as one of the most exciting emerging live bands on the circuit. 
     The guys still have slots at Bestival, Victorious and Forgotten Fields to cap off the summer and then will be going on tour with Leeds based buzz band Clay for a string of dual headline shows across the UK, finishing up with a hometown show at the Wedgewood Rooms in Portsmouth, which is sure to be a sell out (500 capacity), having already sold out the venue twice in their own right this year.
      "Radio Silence" will be streaming online from 10th August onwards as the 1st installment from Kassassin Street’s debut EP. KS will be playing Gold Dust @ London’s Hoxton Bar & Kitchen in support of this on 26th August.
     "Radio Silence" by Kassassin Street   

     Pasted from the email submission to Indie Obsessive:
     Melbourne's City Calm Down is set to release their debut full-length album "In A Restless House" on November 6th via I OH YOU Records. Earlier this summer, they shared their first single "Rabbit Run," including a video directed by Tooth & Claw, setting the tone for this accomplished album - a lean, intense monochrome of their early work with new startling cloudbursts of color and textural detail. Having spent the last three years working tirelessly and meticulously, City Calm Down chose to take their time and hone their sound, rather than rushing out a collection of songs to keep up with demand. It’s been a journey that has certainly not been without its obstacles and struggles however the band has now surfaced with an album that we are truly proud of. Their new video for "Wandering" is no exception. Directed by Timothy O'Keefe, the band shares some of the inspiration behind the clip.
     Band Members: Jack Bourke, Sam Mullaly, Jeremy Sonnenberg, Lee Armstrong
     “Wandering” by City Calm Down

No comments:

Post a Comment