Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Three for Free, Legal and Recommended (“FL&R”) – The August Version

     Free and Legal Downloads? Yes, at least temporarily. Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of an offer might be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FL&R) downloads.
     Finding songs that can be legally downloaded is easy. The difficult task is to find music that we recommend. The below music covers a wide area of the genre map, but the common characteristic is that each song has “The Indie Obsessive Stamp of Approval” (if interested, a genre map is described at CLICK HERE).

     “Atlas” is an anthem from Enemies of the State. The band is based in Glasgow, Scotland. The members are Kris Tennant, Glenn Holburn, Gary Dillon, Joseph Carney and Garry Curran. Enemies of the State attack the song “Atlas” with the force of guitars.

     Careful, this may cause genre whiplash. The Yukon Club is an Electronic Pop band from Amsterdam, Netherlands. The members are Alex de Bruijn, Geert Vlieger, Lennart van DuerendenHollander and Lars Knitel. Their track “Absence” is not a typical song in this genre, since it is more thought-filled.  

     Motion Parade is permitting “Name Your Price” downloads of “With You” from Bandcamp. The band is located in New Jersey, with three member - Shane Furst (bass, vocals), Matt Morgantini (guitar) and Cosmo Marri (drums, vocals).


     “Parallel World” by Sister on Wire was embedded in an April post. Since then, the band released “Ride,” a song we find even more appealing. Sisters On Wire is based in Vilnius, Lithuania. The members are Oleg Jerochin (lead vocals, guitar), Filip Gusev (guitars) and Gintas Gascevicius (drums).


     James Mackenzie is offering “It's All Good.” He is a singer/songwriter in Inverness, Scotland. His music resides most comfortably in the Folk genre.


No comments:

Post a Comment