Monday, December 30, 2013

Three for Free – The December Version

     Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of the offer may be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FLR) downloads.
     Young Braves is offering the song “Youth” as a free download. The UK quartet was formally known as Arcade Parade. The members are Ollie Scott (lead vocals, guitar), Jakob Ferguson (lead guitar, synth), Elliot Scott (bass guitar, backing vocals) and Dan Byrne (drums, backing vocals). Rumor is that Elliot Scott and Byrne are 15 years old, while Ollie Scott and Ferguson are in college. But their song “Youth” has a sophistication that belies the rumored average age.
     "Youth" by Young Braves

     Anberlin is a more established band, with their first album being released in 2003. They are based in Winter Haven, Florida and the five members are Stephen Christian (lead vocals, keyboards), Joseph Milligan (guitar, backing vocals), Christian McAlhaney (guitar, backing vocals), Deon Rexroat (bass), and Nathan Young (drums). While it requires an input of an email address, Aberlin is currently offering three versions of “Type Three.” The three versions are a) radio, b) live, and c) remix.
     Because the Soundcloud version is more easily manipulated, we are including the Soundcloud stream and the Noisetrade offfer of the free download of "Type Three."

     Beecher’s Fault is based in Astoria, New York. The driving forces are Ken Lamken (vocals, keys) and Ben Taylor (guitar, vocals). They are offering “Matchstick Kings,” which begins with piano and low energy vocals. At the 1:08 mark of the song, the caffeine takes effect.   
     "Matchstick Kings" by Beecher's Fault

No comments:

Post a Comment