Monday, March 4, 2013

A Trilogy of Brooklyn Bands

     This post is about three bands without much in common beyond the city in which they are based – Brooklyn, New York.
    The first band is Black Light Dinner Party. Of the three bands, this one has the most interesting name and the video that will draw the most attention. They claim to provide dance music for people who don’t like to dance. The members met in Boston, but Black Light Dinner Party in now a Brooklyn band. They are Jack Côté (vocals, guitar), Zach Lipkins (drums), Joel Friedman (keys), and Dan Stevens (vocals, bass). It may be too cute for some (not us), but the video of “We Are Golden” is a good match with the music.

     “We Are Golden” by Black Light Dinner Party

     “Older Together” by Black Light Dinner Party


     A second Brooklyn band is Midnight Spin. But this band is about rock. The band comprises Mike Corbett (vocals, guitar), Danny Scull (drums), Jim Terranova (guitar, vocals), Ben Waters (bass) and Jeremy Cohen (keys, vocals).
We particularly like “Conchis Bliss,” which currently is a Free, Legal and Recommended download.
     "Conchis Bliss" by Midnight Spin

     "Phantoms" by Midnight Spin

    Finally, we introduce Small Black to the Indie Obsessive Blog. This band has been around for a while, but they just released a new single that shows a new direction - one we like. If the rest of the upcoming album is nearly as good, the band is ripe for a breakout. The members are Ryan Heyner, Josh Hayden Kolenik, Juan Pieczanski, and Jeff Curtin.
   The album "Limits of Desire" will be released May 14, 2013. Small Black previously released the mixtape "Moon Killer," which is still available for free download (CLICK HERE), but we prefer the promise of the upcoming release. 
     "Free at Dawn" by Small Black

     Below is the official trailer for the album - "Limits of Desire." It's simple, but creative.

No comments:

Post a Comment