Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Three for Free – A November Version

     Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of the offer may be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FLR) downloads.
     Earlier this month, we had a “three for free” that was dedicated to Indie Pop. So, it makes sense to start this one with some rock guitar. This Silent Forest is from Glasgow, Scotland. The members are Graeme Macdonald (vocals and rhythm guitar), Jamie Sturt (lead guitar and vocals) Evan Macdonald (drums) and JJ McGowan (bass and vocals). According to the band’s Facebook page, they are “often joined by Lesley Macdonald and Iona Bain.
     In their song “Root to the Seed,” This Silent Forest waits until the 4:29 mark to pull out a guitar “wall of sound” that is our favorite characteristic of the Scottish sound. But there’s no need to wait for the 4:29 mark to find features that make the song worthwhile. The lyrics of “Root to Seed” are directed to a father-son relationship and the passing of knowledge to the son. The processing of the vocals and the guitars establish an atmosphere that works effectively with the lyrical message.
     “Root to the Seed” by This Silent Forest

     Beat the Heart is an Indie Rock band from Stockholm, Sweden. The members of the band are Nicolas Flemström, Johan Veronese, Andreas Veronese, Filip Wästberg, and Kim Flemström. “Glebe Market” is more than seven minutes long, but pay attention to the relentlessness of the guitar work. And we enjoy the manner in which the guitars seem to "reboot" just prior to the 4:00 mark (but it must be a Solid State Drive, because it’s a very quick reboot process).
     “Glebe Market” by Beat the Heart

      Next, is a repeat visit to Indie Obsessive. But it’s not from a previous “three for free post” and it is a song we enjoy. The band Flagship is based in Charlotte, North Carolina. The members are Drake Margolnick (lead vocals), Matt Padgett (lead guitar), Michael Finster (drums), Grant Harding (keys), and Christopher Comfort (bass).
      “Are You Calling” by Flagship

     What??? You mean repeats are permitted if they are songs that Indie Obsessive loves and the original posting was not as a “three for free?” Well, then here is a bonus. The San Francisco band Evil Eyes brings us “Shake the Dust.” This is a bonus song that falls out of the Indie Rock theme, but it is free, so who is gonna argue?. Thanks guys.
     "Shake the Dust" by Evil Eyes

No comments:

Post a Comment