Sunday, March 23, 2014

Future Islands – A Band Review

     In early 2013, we noted that Future Islands started receiving some well-deserved attention with the release of “Cotton Flower.” Well, look out above! This is the year for Future Islands. The album “Singles” will drop on March 25 and its strength has been noticed by some of the difference makers in the music world. In February, KCRW posted an in-studio performance of “Seasons (Waiting on You).” Then, Future Islands performed the same song on David Letterman, but with a more manic approach. And NPR jumped in their corner at SXSW.
     Future Islands has been together since 2006, while the band members were students at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. The band is now based in Baltimore and is formed of Gerrit Welmers (keyboards and programming), William Cashion (bass, acoustic and electric guitars), and Samuel T. Herring (vocals). When on tour, they are often joined by drummer Michael Lowry.

     As already noted, NPR is a “fan” of Future Islands. For a short time, NPR is offering free downloads of “Seasons (Waiting on You)” and nine other bands with SXSW-related songs at the NPR site CLICK HERE. The new songs supplement the 100 free SXSW downloads which are available for only a few more days – CLICK HERE FOR THE AUSTIN 100, before it is disabled. 

     "Cotton Flower" by Future Islands (from 2012)

     “Seasons (Waiting on You)” by Future Islands (2014)

     “Seasons (Waiting on You)” by Future Islands - the more manic approach

No comments:

Post a Comment