Sunday, March 16, 2014

Three for Free, Legal and Recommended (“FL&R”) – The Expanded March Version

     Free and Legal Downloads? Yes, at least temporarily. Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of the offer might be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FL&R) downloads.
     There are significantly more than three songs in this post, but it’s not because the entry bar was lowered. Each of the songs is recommended for further listening and exploration of other songs by the bands.
     The first stop is Paper Lights of Atlanta, Georgia. This is a six member band comprising Dan Snyder (vocals keys), Melanie Annabelle (vocals, glock), Jonathan Kimsey (percussion), Jacob McCarthy (guitar), Tim Friesen (bass), and Josh Stewart (keys, percussion). 
     Perhaps more than any other song by Paper Lights, in “The Cave” the lead singer (Melanie) shows the vocal traits of someone we have enjoyed since our first listen. Particularly at the start of “The Cave,” Melanie sounds like Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir of Of Monsters and Men. But the singing is not the only aspect of the song we enjoy. The percussion is interesting throughout “The Cave.”

Paper Lights is offering “The Cave” and four other songs for the mere price of an email address (and tips are appreciated) at the Bandcamp site - "Your on Your Way" is another keeper.

      The Hubbards hail from Hull in the U.K. The four members are Reuben Driver (bass, vocals), Alex Green (guitar, vocals), Ronan Burns (guitar) and Joe Orlowski (drums). Their offer of a free download is “Is It Me?” The song features quality vocals and strong guitar work.

     From the Twins Cities in Minnesota comes Step Rockets. The band comprises Anthony Schulz, Brady Lillie, Johnny Syn, and Josh Von Mink. They describe themselves as “a Minneapolis indie rock band exploring psychedelia, modern hooks, and worldly grooves. A musical love child of Michael Jackson and Thin Lizzy.”
     "Kisser" by Step Rockets. If your browser doesn't show the download icon, CLICK HERE. Note: this free download has a .wav format. If you prefer .mp3, the Bandcamp site is another option

     Other Lovers is Megan Fowler (vocals), Brandon Boyd (vocals/guitar), Chase Dungan (guitar), Travis Glass (bass), and Sean Ragsdale (drums) from Austin, Texas.
     "New" by Other Lovers

     “Don’t Wait for Him” by Side Saddle is a blend of Indie Folk and Indie Pop. Side Saddle is the performance moniker of Ian McGuiness.

     Another singer/songwriter with a moniker is Wll Cuming, who uses the name Lanks for side projects from the band Farrow. Lanks is based in Melbourne, Australia.

     For those who enjoy dream pop, here’s RLMLD (short for Role Model) from Toronto, Ontario. The three members are Jordan Allen, Michael Laing, and Luke Duross. The two songs embedded below allow free downloads in a .wav format. There is also a Bandcamp opportunity at
     "Wildest Dreams" by RLMLD

     "Local Celebrity" by RLMLD

     From Scotland (Croy/Glasgow) comes Campfires in Winter. Their Facebook page merely identities the members as Scott, Wullie, Boab and Ewan. We particularly enjoy the guitar in their free download of “Greeted by the Storm,” but horns always add depth to a song.

No comments:

Post a Comment