Sunday, August 31, 2014

The Collection – A Band Review

     Now and then, Lois Lane would theorize about Clark Kent actually being Superman and would ask, “Have you ever seen them together?” Well, of course Superman was indeed the superhero persona of the mild-mannered Clark Kent.
     Well, has anyone ever seen Typhoon and the Collection together? When limiting the investigation to an individual level, has anyone ever seen Kyle Morton and David Wimbish together? Their voices, their uses of vocal inflections, and their tastes in musical composition are too closely aligned for there to be two separate people. Importantly, the Superman/Clark Kent question is easily distinguished from this music-specific investigation, since Typhoon and The Collection are both “super.”  

     Indie Obsessive has professed its appreciation for the orchestral sound of Typhoon more than once. Typhoon has staked claim on the Western United States, since the band is based in Portland, Oregon. On the other hand, The Collection owns the East. The band of between 12 and 17 works its craft in Greensboro, North Carolina (because there are so many members, the listing is found at the bottom of this post).
     On July 15, the Collection released the debut album “Ars Moriendi” (The Art of Dying). The first single from the album is “The Gown of Green”.

     The translated title track of the “Ars Moriendi” album is “The Art of Dying.”

    Currently, a Noisetrade offer is available. Of course, the Collection would appreciate a tip.

     Just for comparison purposes, here is one of the great Typhoon songs – “Young Fathers.”

the Collection is:
David Wimbish - Guitar, Mandolin, Banjo, Pipa, Violin, Cello, Horns, Vocals
Mira-joy Wimbish - Accordion, Glockenspiel, Aux Percussion, Vocals
Hayden Cooke - Bass Guitar, Doublebass
Christina Goss - Piano, Glockenspiel, Aux Percussion
Whitney Keller - Organ, Autoharp, Glockenspiel, Aux Percussion, Vocals
Philip Keller - Baritone Horn
Sandra Wimbish - Trumpet
Steve Rozema - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Graham Dickey - Trombone
Chase Salmons - Drums, Chains, Weights, Keys, Shakers, Tambourines
Tom Troyer - Electric Guitar, Phin, Charango, Flute, Didjeridoo
Maria Yandell - Violin
Josh Weesner - Violin
Christina Brooke - Cello
Jennifer Millis - Cello
Hope Baker - Clarinet, Aux Percussion

Additional Musicians -
Elisa Cox - Violin
Clay White - Saw, Trumpet
Ivy White - French Horn
Jeff Stuart Saltzman - Marxophone
Edd Kerr - Electric Guitar, Banjo
Group Vocals: Kevan Chandler, Caleb and Meagan Hunter, Kim Bazel, Anna Bosovich, Luke Carson

No comments:

Post a Comment