Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Future Islands - A Review

     Future Islands has been together since 2006, while the band members were students at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina.  The band is formed of Gerrit Welmers (keyboards and programming), William Cashion (bass, acoustic and electric guitars), and Samuel T. Herring (vocals).
      Future Islands has gained a following, but it was not until the release of "Cotton Flower" in July, 2012 that the band gained noticeable traction in areas outside their base, which is now Baltimore, Maryland.  Herring's voice works well within the context of "Cotton Flower." 

The song is available through iTunes, or you can name your own price if you download "Cotton Flower" through the group's Bandcamp site:

No comments:

Post a Comment