Saturday, February 1, 2014

“Colourblind” by The Fixators – A Song/Album Review

     “Colourblind” is the title track from an eight-song album that was released by The Fixators on January 29. The Fixators are from Sydney, Australia. The four members of the band are Matt Lidbetter (guitar/keys/vocals), Tim Clark (guitar/vocals), Mitch Prax (bass), and Tom Stokes (drums/vocals).
     The instruments and their arrangement make the song “Colourblind” blogworthy. Sometimes, it’s subtle, such as the guitar/drum cooperation that begins around the 1:14 mark (when the vocals stop) and continues until the departure of the fussed guitar at the 1:22 mark. At other times, it’s “in your face,” such as the driving guitar that enters at the 3:30 mark.
     “Colourblind” by The Fixators

     Other guitar-featured tracks from the January 29 release are “Two of Us” and “Rust.”

     “Rust” by The Fixators

     We also like the song “Haven,” which enters the Indie Ambient genre. Its waveform has the profile of a snake shortly after capturing a meal that will provide sustenance for days.

Purchase at

The earlier material by The Fixators is being offered at a name-your-own-price value. 
At  Soundcloud, these pre-2014 songs are available as free downloads.  Our personal favorite should be "San Francisco," but it is actually  "Your Call."

No comments:

Post a Comment