Sunday, February 16, 2014

Free, Legal & Recommended Downloads (“FL&R”) – February

     Free and Legal Downloads? Yes, at least temporarily. Bands often temporarily permit free downloads of new releases.  The end of the offer might be based upon reaching a maximum number of downloads or the expiration of some period of time.  But at least for now, here are songs that qualify as Free, Legal and Recommended (FL&R) downloads.

     Someone with more imagination needs to introduce an easily understood term for a song like “To Catch a Ghost” by Flashes. Perhaps a movie-related term, since the song is similar to being in a theatre having a good experience for three fifths of a film, when suddenly the movie takes a twist or a new character enters and everything is better. In “To Catch a Ghost,” there is a lot going on during the first three minutes, an almost minimalistic approach takes over for a minute, and then a mini “wall of sound” pushes its way in and imposes its will for the final two minutes.
      Flashes is based in Cornwall, U.K. They seem to fit the California lifestyle, since the band members don’t often use their last names. The members are Jim (vocals/guitar), Peasy (guitar/vocals/laptop/keys), Dan (guitar/strobes), and Graham (bass), and Bruce (drums).
      “To Catch a Ghost” by Flashes - Currently a free download (it's a .wav file, but if you prefer MP3s, go to the Bandcamp site shown below the song).

      Staying with the Ghost theme and songs that show increasing strength, Guardian Ghost is the performance moniker of Jesse Glick. He identifies his hometown as Woodstock, NY, but he is currently based in Los Angeles.
     “Sailor” by Guardian Ghost. The song is offered on a “name your price” basis at the Bandcamp site -

     Nova & the Experience are offering “Shipwrecked.” The band is from Sydney, Australia. There are a number of song features to appreciate, but of particular interest are the band shouts, such as during the energy surge that occurs at the 2:11 mark of “Shipwrecked.” The members are James Buckingham, Anna Buckingham, Laurie Mahon, and Jake Asser.
     “Shipwrecked” by Nova & the Experience

     “Dragonflies and Waterfalls” by Nova & the Experience – a bonus FL&R download.


      Nick D' and the Believers are from Columbus, Ohio. The members are Nick D'Andrea (vocals, Keys), Kerry Henderson (lead guitar, vocals), and Joseph Barker (drums). Their song “Find a Little Love” has a feel of being too "Pop” at its start, but hang on. The song varies as it progresses.
     “Find a Little Love” by Nick D' and the Believers (if your browser doesn't show the "download" icon, go to the Soundcloud page of the song, or CLICK HERE). 

     Finally, there’s Yellerkin from Katonah, NY. The song of interest is “Solar Laws.” The two members of Yellerkin are Adrian Galvin and Luca Buccellati The free download is a .wav file.

No comments:

Post a Comment